Please Join the Newton Charter Commission as We Examine the Structure of Newton’s City Council:

Please click here for an Article 2 Discussion Guide. This can be used as a reference document at the hearing and as the Commission proceeds with additional meetings and the Article 2 review.

Public Hearing focused on Article 2: Legislative
Wednesday, March 30th, 7:00 pm, City Hall, City Council Chambers

Round Table Discussion with Current and Former Newton Aldermen / Councilors
Thursday, March 31st, 7:30 pm, City Hall, City Council Chambers

Invited Panel:

  • Ruth Balser, State Representative, former 8-year member of Board of Aldermen, Ward 8 Ward Alderman
  • Scott Lennon, President, Newton City Council, 14-year member of Board / Council, Ward 1 Ward Alderman and Alderman/Councilor-at-Large, Ward 1
  • Cheryl Lappin, Vice President, Newton City Council, 14-year member, Ward 8 Ward Councilor
  • George Mansfield, former 26-year member of Board of Aldermen, 11 years as Vice President, past chair of Land Use, Finance, and Public Facilities Committees, Ward 6 Ward Alderman
  • Brian Yates, 28 year member of City Council, Ward 5 Councilor-at-Large, past chair of Zoning and Planning Committee
  • John Stewart, former 12-year member of the Board of Aldermen, longtime charter reform leader, Alderman-at-Large Ward 4

Round Table Discussion with City Councilors from Massachusetts Cities of Comparable Size
Tuesday, April 12, 7:30 pm, 100 Walnut Street, Education Center, Room 210.
Invited panelists are still being confirmed.

Regular Charter Commission Meeting, Article 2
Wednesday, April 13, 7:00 pm, Newton City Hall, Room 211

Regular Charter Commission Meeting, Article 2
Wednesday, April 27, 7:00 pm, Newton City Hall, Room 211

Please visit our Facebook page and like us on Facebook: facebook.com/newtonchartercommission,
follow us on [email protected], and keep apprised of our work and our schedule via newtonma.gov/charter.   The signup link for the Charter Commission mailing list is: www.eepurl.com/bKbp1D.

For those who wish to send comments or questions, note that emails sent to[email protected] will reach all members of the Commission.
Thank you so much for your support.


The Newton Charter Commission
Josh Krintzman, Chair
Rhanna Kidwell, Vice Chair
Bryan Barash
Jane Frantz
Howard Haywood
Anne Larner
Brooke Lipsitt
Karen Manning
Chris Steele


Pin It on Pinterest